The Heart Reader

visualphotos.com

visualphotos.com

Did you know that God can read our hearts? It’s true.

Have you ever been in the midst of something in which words just fail when you come to meet with the Lord in prayer?

Sometimes this happens because we are so distracted, our thoughts just keep on straying, interrupting, intervening.

Other times, we may truly be so over wrought with emotions, grief, turmoil, or a host of other things, that words simply elude us.  At this point, we tend to get frustrated and just go back into our own little world.

I have even recently experienced times in which I am so utterly happy that I can’t seem to find the right words as I come to the Lord in prayer….just wanting to praise Him.

I don’t know if this will help you or not – I certainly hope that it will – but I want to share a secret with you: God can read our hearts.

If we have accepted Jesus as the Lord and Savior of our lives, He has given us the Holy Spirit to live within us and “help” us throughout our lives.  The Holy Spirit is an absolute part of God – part of the trinity – and is divine and powerful.

The Spirit of the Lord lives within us and can and will intercede for us in prayer. Honestly, I personally feel that the Spirit does a much better job of bringing our true desires, praises, and prayers to the Father for us than we could ever do.

If you are struggling to express what you wish to say or convey to the Lord today, take a moment and just come to Him – heart bare. I have literally found myself saying nothing more on several occassions over these last two months than “Lord, I have tried to tell you, but I know that you know my heart.” And then things just…..change.

They change for the better, friends. I can feel it right when it happens. And so will you.

It’s almost as though it’s a relief – a form of utter dependence and vulnerability and trust – when we just give it up to the Lord entirely…asking Him to read our hearts. The Spirit steps in, takes completely over, and things seem to be heard a lot better and much more clearly than when we seem to have all the right words ourselves.

Open your heart today and let Him do the heart surgery He so desires. I promise, it will be worth it!

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. 27 And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God. Romans 8: 26-27

tumblr.com

tumblr.com

9 thoughts on “The Heart Reader

  1. Thank you for sharing this! You used one of my favorite scriptures “Romans 8:26” How much must Jesus love us to go the Father with groans. Great words for today! God Bless

  2. As always you’ve inspired my morning. It’s a hard subject, prayer. I’ve been trying to teach the children in my children’s ministry how to pray. It’s such a pleasure listening to their innocent words because they actually speak from their hearts. Have a wonderful day…

  3. Hi Annie,
    I live by the Holy Spirit’s words and wisdom spoken to my heart. I try not to run my life by what my brain tells me to do. This only seems to get me in trouble. I try to run my life by what my heart says, because this is where the words of God live.

Share Your Thoughts, Stories, or Prayer Requests Here!

