I Celebrate Mother’s Day Differently ~ Since Mama went to Heaven

balloons-388973_640

Every year, when Mother’s Day comes around I realize it: I celebrate Mother’s Day differently since Mama went to Heaven a few years ago.

Don’t get me wrong, friends. I miss my Mama dearly. But I am so happy, now that the shock of the initial grief has subsided a little.

Why? Because I know that I know that I KNOW where she is right now. And its a way cool place. She’s with the King of Kings!

Sometimes on Mother’s Day I feel a tinge of sadness or a remnant of that fresh kind of grief that strikes you in the first days and months following the passing of a deeply loved one. But although I cannot celebrate with Mama on Mother’s Day, I find that I celebrate her for who she was and still is in many ways that I couldn’t appreciate before she left this earth.

I celebrate who my Mama is every day ~ not only on Mother’s Day.

I celebrate who Mama was and is in Jesus.

I celebrate my Savior, who  has her firmly in His grip.

I celebrate the fact that He’s got me too!

Yes. I celebrate ~ differently.

I often find myself lost in thought as to what Mama might be doing with Jesus right now. It’s the coolest kind of imagining one can do. And, usually when I catch myself dreaming away about such things, I find I have a smile on my face. I feel like I am getting to be right there with them sometimes, and I often wonder if the Lord isn’t doing something mysterious in those moments.

It’s awesome.

I dream about it, friends. I find myself walking in a meadow to meet them ~ it feels like I’m walking on puffy clouds, but it’s actually beautiful green grass. Everything feels….lighter. All burdens are lifted. There’s a peace there that reaches a whole new level that I cannot explain with words.

I celebrate differently ~ and I would venture to say that I celebrate…..BETTER.

Because I cannot wait to see my Jesus face to face! And my Mama too.

I am excited for the day that I can see them and hug them and kiss them and wrap myself under their love again.

When it happens? I shall twirl. I shall dance. I shall sing and laugh and cry and love will pour out of me that I didn’t even know that I possessed.

And in the meantime? Well, that’s another part of the different kind of celebrating that I will continue to do. Love transcends earthly boundaries.

True love ~ like the kind that I receive from Jesus and from Mama? Well, all I can say is it’s cause for a daily celebration!

Jesus lives, my friends!!! He conquered death and He is KING! And because He lives, Mama does too. So do WE! Whoo Hoo!!!!!!!!!!!

What a GIFT of love, my friends. So much better than any Mother’s Day gift or any other gift I could ever give to another!

Just call me the party chick. ‘Cause I have a never-ending present to open, and each time it gets better and better!

If we follow after Christ and trust Him as our One and only Savior and King, we get the best present of all!

We get His presence in our presents.

Every single day.

I celebrate differently now. I celebrate Mother’s Day and Christmas and Easter and every day differently now.

I am grateful.

And it is…………GOOD!

Join in my celebration, friends. You are SO invited.

But thank God! He gives us victory over sin and death through our Lord Jesus Christ.1 Corinthians 15:57

tea-556777_640

2 thoughts on “I Celebrate Mother’s Day Differently ~ Since Mama went to Heaven

Share Your Thoughts, Stories, or Prayer Requests Here!

