Believing is Seeing

photo credit collette veranouskas via creationswap

photo credit collette veranouskas via creationswap

We often live our lives waiting for the next milestone to arrive, while all around us the present moment is but a flurry. Every year at Christmas I make even more of an effort to not allow this to happen – not let all the stuff to do and things to take care of get in the way of focusing upon my Savior. But it always does. In some way, I just allow it to get in the way. Then, after the day is through, I begin to thing about the past year. I then think about the upcoming one. And I realize…..

I’m doing it again! Thinking back. Thinking forward. Not living in the moment.

Even for those who know Jesus and have a deep relationship with Him – those who know this earthly home is but a blip on the radar of eternity – even some of those folks (yes, I am one of them), we find ourselves jogging along the path of life trying to see what’s up ahead instead of being in the present.

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. Matthew 6:34

I try. I really, really do. And some of that is my very problem, friends. I don’t know how to “not” try. I don’t know how to fully surrender. For this girl, it’s a stretch to be okay with jogging along a path that is filled with fog up ahead. Yes, for this one, it’s uncomfortable to not be able to see two feet in front of me. And I know that the trying is getting in my way.

Sometimes I fool myself into thinking that even being on a foggy path must mean that I have grown or come a long way or something. I like to tell myself to remember the times in which I wouldn’t even stick my baby toe out onto a path that wasn’t clear and marked by the mile, with a beautiful plan all mapped out for me.

But then I realize that’s just a load of bologna too.

I accepted a long time ago that I am someone who may never fully embrace not understanding at least a part of the path that I am on. See, I don’t know about you but for me, I feel like I NEED to at least know where my foot is going to be landing in order to take the next step. Yeh. Remember Peter and how the Lord asked him to step onto the water and come and meet Him? That’s been me over this past year. Ad nauseam.

But the Lord has still been moving me in a lot of ways – ways that I can measure tangibly, and ways in which I can just know it through the Holy Spirit. He’s done this with me in ways over this past year that I just can no longer articulate. His light inside of me is getting brighter, but the fog up ahead is all-the-thicker. It’s a really strange place in which to be. Light on the inside screaming to burst forth while simultaneoulsy my human vision continues to worsen – to fail me. Kinda funny when you consider the name of this blog, huh.

I’m starting to wonder if I will even be able to see far enough in front of me to lace up my shoes next.

But then I remember: Nothing is impossible with God. I mean….blind people do this all the time! They lace up their shoes without the help of their eyes, or any illumination at all. I believe God is blinding me to certain things not simply to test my faith, but to grow me. I truly can feel it that He wants to HELP me in this, friends. But it doesn’t change the fact that I am beyond uncomfortable about it.

What minute problems to experience, no? What a gracious God we serve – so merciful, so loving, so sovereign and faithful! He could strike me down any moment for my grumbling and complaining when what I call “discomfort” is luxury in 99% of the rest of the world. Not knowing where your feet will be taking you from one day to the next? Wake up and smell the coffee! That’s how most of the world is forced to live and they don’t have a grande cappuccino by their side while they are doing it.

I thank Jesus today and every single day for loving me so much. I thank God that He was willing to go far beyond the worst discomfort we could even imagine and give us His one and only son to cover all for us so that we can come into the presence of our Holy Lord and have a true and lasting, eternal relationship with Him.

So, when you have times in which you feel you aren’t sure what’s up ahead, or if you are struggling to even put one foot in front of the other, remember that if you trust in Him, He sees all. He will give us HIS kind of vision and HIS eyes to see what we need to see. And He’ll decide when we need to see it too.

Keep your spiritual eyes wide open, friends. Look for Him in the places that even the human eye cannot see, but the heart that is filled with the Spirit of the Lord most definitely can. And watch out…you may end up squinting when you find out just how bright He really is.

And most of all, remember that even if you could stand up tall and say that you have come a long way, it’s nothing compared with where you are going if you have accepted Christ as your Savior. Where He is leading us far surpasses any beautiful destination we could ever see or imagine on this earth.

I suppose that’s not a place where we’ll be uncomfortable at all, is it? I suppose we won’t be experiencing major or minor discomfort there, to say the least. We will be in the presence of the One, True King, Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior – for ALL ETERNITY! And once we are there in heaven with Him?

Well, that’s when we’ll know just how far He has brought us. He could pluck us right out of here at any moment you know. And the fog shall lift forevermore. We may need special sunglasses in order to soak it all in.

Then Jesus said, “Did I not tell you that if you believe, you will see the glory of God?” John 11:40

HeavenGateway[1]

2 thoughts on “Believing is Seeing

Share Your Thoughts, Stories, or Prayer Requests Here!

