First World Problems Suck Rocks Too!

this_sucks_facebook_thumbs_down_stickers-r75a71176c44a47648bff69dadbcfe1db_v9waf_8byvr_512[1]

First, let’s get this out of the way: Yes, I said “Suck.”

K…moving on.

So often, I feel like a petty little jerk because of how the little, yet tedious and pervasive problems that I experience here in my protective, bubble-like, and luxurious world get to me over time. They start to drag me down, yo. They start to make me sad, irritable, anxious, doubtful, and even angry. And then I sit back and wonder why I am so crazy and selfish, because I am constantly reminded of just how good I have it.

But that’s my reality, “getting” to live in a place where our problems aren’t always BIG. Make no mistake about it, I have had my share of the bigger problems in life and the Lord showed up in His grace and got me through it. But these minor things that infest our world at times like weeds, threatening to destroy, they can wear a person down.

The enemy likes to condemn me for feeling irritated about my little first world problems. He likes to condemn other believers I know around me who are experiencing the same thing. But that’s also a lie. Why do his old tricks continue to work on us? Well, that is going to have to be another story, because this isn’t about that stupid enemy today.

Here’s the truth that the Holy Spirit is whispering in my ear for where I am at right now with all of this. The truth is yes, keep it in perspective, sister. The truth is that yes, you have it very, very good where you live, breath, and are in this life. The truth is yes, it’s not all about you. But the truth is also that yes, God still cares and He wants to  hear about it. God wants to know about the thorns in your side.

He cares about the big and the small, friends. The enemy would have you think otherwise, but again, that’s a LIE.

So, today I am starting off by venting out some of the crud that’s been bugging me, even though I know there are far worse things to contend with in this world. I am vomiting out all of the junk that is trying to weigh me down and take my perspective and make me have a pity party and cause me to give more credence to these petty nuisances than they deserve. I am purging this crap out so the Lord can deal with it. (Yes, I just said “crap.”)

But most of all, I hope it helps you to relate, to understand, that we all go through these things – some big stuff mingled in with a bunch of small stuff – and it’s all stuff that sucks rocks! And the Lord wants us to bring this junk to Him and ask Him to take it and carry us through. He doesn’t want us to “suck it up” and stuff it down because we deem it petty and unimportant. Who do I think I am that I should deem anything to be too small and insignifican for the Lord to place His attention upon in my life? Just who do I think I am!

May you be encouraged at the very least, that if you ever feel this way, you are NOT alone. As one reader told me once (and it SOOOO made me smile)…..

“Anne, you make the rest of us feel and know that we aren’t the only crazy ones!”

As I smile while I type these words, my reply is very honestly and happily…”I am glad I can do that for some of you.” Ha Ha!!!!!!!!!

Give me a break, now the computer is broken?
What’s up, Lord, your word I need to open!

Death of a friend, crying, pain and grief,
Not a petty one there, this life is so brief.

Phone calls, text messages, “I am sick again”
Leaving work, as I should, to help my kids to mend.

Bills to pay, house to clean, it just keeps a’coming,
I don’t have time for this, and I’m starting to be bumming.

Teacher emails, “get a grip, your kid was rude today”
Talks, harangues, replies, discussion, don’t know what to say.

Traffic jams, cramping legs, and the scale just needles higher,
Just get through this day in one piece, is to what I must aspire.

My little world, trying to take over, so much more out there
Typhoons and hurricanes, death, pain, sin and greed laid bare…

Jesus, He’s present, always for me, I don’t have to ask him “where?”
No matter where we all might be, He’ll always be right there.

Yes, even though some of this stuff sucks rocks, I am turning it over the THE ROCK today, because this verse tells me to do so. And I shall rejoice.

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4: 4-7

MR18-Jesus-is-my-Rock-350x370[1]

2 thoughts on “First World Problems Suck Rocks Too!

  1. Yep.
    Sucks.
    Rocks.

    How did I miss this post?
    This life is gonna’ suck rocks as long as it is playing out on the stage of this earth as we know it now.
    Suckin’ on a big ole’ rock. Third rock from the sun.

    BUT… We got this. Cause He’s got this. He made this big ole’ rock. That’s what keeps me going and I know it keeps you going. Have I told you today I luv ya?!

Share Your Thoughts, Stories, or Prayer Requests Here!

