Dead Battery?

The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will  rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will  exult over you with loud singing. Zephaniah 3:17

For about three days now, I have had very little energy. At first, I just thought it was that I had had a pretty heavy duty internal wrestling match (the roller coaster, yo) that lasted about two weeks, and now that it’s over, I am tired…a bit worn out, so to speak.

Then it got worse. I even wonder if I may be fighting off a cold. I’m reaching that point where it’s hard to lift my hand up, for example. L.E.T.H.A.R.G.I.C.

It’s funny how God speaks to us through such times. When it first started to happen, the first thing that popped into my mind was…”is it possible that God wants for me to enjoy a period of “being still” with Him? I think it is — very possible!

Don’t get me wrong…I am still busy. But not busy-CRAZY. I am probably busy-NORMAL for the first time in years. And although I am grateful, it’s kinda weird. It’s like the adrenaline I was used to operating off of has now taken a nose dive and my body and mind are reeling in the endeavor to adjust. I am grateful – sooo very grateful. But I don’t think my body knows that yet.

This was confirmed for me (that the Lord wants to bless me with a time of solace and overall quiet) when I heard that I am going to get the different new job (from what I had originally thought was planned) after all, and that it doesn’t start until May 28th. By the way, that is a major Praise the Lord thing – the “job” I ended up being blessed to receive (another story)!!!!!

I thought of the scripture above….how God is with us, right in the middle of it all, isn’t He? He is with us in the high-energy, even stressful times, and He is with us in the quieter times. When we trust in Him, He will work through, even orchestrate the circumstances to accomplish what He has in store for us during the particular season we are in, or embarking upon.

This verse reminds me of that and is such a comfort. And it reminds me of only a few of His awesome attributes as well. Not only is He right there with us in the mix of all, big or small, He remains His mighty and divine Self, saves us daily, and knows how to either meet us where we are at, or help us to get into a different place or state. And it’s always a way that He is blessing us or growing us – right here – wherever we may be.

What a gracious and amazing God we serve!

How awesome to never be alone. And how wonderful that the Lord God, Himself knows how important it is to meet us where we are and be there for us according to the situation. Most of all, what peace we have in knowing that He stays right there with us – in the midst- no matter what our situation or circumstances may be. I can’t say it enough. I can’t praise Him for it enough. Because of Him, my spiritual battery is never dead even if my physical one is starting to fade.

So today, I am going to rest, as my mind isn’t wanting to, but my body is saying I must. I am so lethargic, honestly, that it is a struggle to type for very long, or even to read more than a few verses in my bible ( I know, poor me, right – ha ha!)

So, the Lord wants to speak with me in a different way than I am used to today, I suppose. He knows what is best, and for that, I am also so very, very grateful.

Are you like me today, feeling under the weather, lethargic, maybe even fighting off a cold, injury, sickness, or harder still, a really difficult physical challenge or trial even? If so, allow God to “quiet you with his love” and make even more of Himself known to you today.

Sometimes we have to shut up or be still to be able to truly listen, see, and experience Him. For a gal like me, this is no easy task, but so very necessary. In all reality, I think this is right where He wants me right now. Quiet…a little bit sick and in need (needy)….and open in a different way than when I am operating on a “full charge.”

It’s just another way that we can draw near to Him – being still and quiet. And guess what He says will happen when we do that?

Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you. James 4:8

There ain’t no dead about that battery!

plug[1]

17 thoughts on “Dead Battery?

    • Ah, thank you friend! I am so behind on answering lovely comments. I appreciate your patience, inspiration, and encouragement. Thank you so much!

  1. I’ve been feeling lethargic today too, and I’ve heard others make mention of being tired. I think mine is being caused by some internal struggles. Yes, I need to let Him quiet me with His love. Thank you, Annie!

  2. Great post! It was exactly those feelings that set in motion my journey into deeper intimacy with Him. I sat quietly before Him just to listen to hear Him speak. No agenda. no Bible reading, just showing up. And show up He did in ways that have revolutionized my life! Now I long for those days where I can just sit quietly with Him to see what He will say. What is really great is when He is there waiting for me! It blows my mind. I love the scripture Zephaniah 3:17. It is mind blowing to think that He dances and sings over me. The more I experience the Father’s love, the more I picture it with delight! Praying that your “down” time is just as profitable for you as some of your “busy” times! Blessings
    Gayle

    • Thank you so much Gayle – and for sharing that with me too. I have been doing some different things lately – like thinking about Him when I am working out, sitting on the porch doing nothing but looking at the sky and grass getting greener, hanging out with the children at church. Jesus is there too – not only in our bibles and bible study. Amazing! It is making my bible time all the richer, and less of a time that I start to space out. Thank you for your beautiful words of inspiration, love and encouragement!

  3. I am feeling the same way as you… I feel weary, the past few days feels so tiresome. I am mentally and physically drained and honestly, my spiritual battery is draining. It is like reading the bible and praying feels to be a task more than a conversation/relationship with God. And I hate what I am feeling… I am beginning to dislike everything around me… But reading this post makes me realize that sometimes all we need is to be still and just listen to Him. Thank you very much for sharing this! You don’t know how it helps me right now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I will remain in prayer for you, friend. I am so glad you shared this with me. You know, sometimes when we feel that spiritual drain, I have found that (for me, at least) He just wants me to sit – in His presence. Outside, where the flowers are, or amongst children in the church nursery. Jesus is everywhere. Sometimes it’s time for more input of Him, less output from Us. Then He fills us up again. I am praying for you right now! I am so thankful this post encouraged you.

  4. Great attitude & faith, I’m a new blogger but definitely will be following you, you have a very welcoming and engaging spirit, thank you for the encouraging word & reminder of an amazing God we serve, who is always there by our side & working for our good in all situations! Many Blessings!

    • Ah, thank you dear lady. I shall follow yours as well. Thanks for encouraging me too. God is SO AWESOME! Enjoy blogging and let Him speak through you…you will be amazed at what He does through it!!!

      • Thank you! I definitely will. It’s very inspiring actually, now that I have peeked into this world and started discovering all these amazing blogs, I have been reading so much I might never get back to all the articles I started…. and all my work, and laundry and chores and end up out on the street, haha. Seriously, I’m realizing what a great world I was missing out on, and am anxious to make my own contribution to His kingdom and as you said, see what God can do through me for His glory. Many blessings and more soon! K

Share Your Thoughts, Stories, or Prayer Requests Here!

